top of page
Search
  • Writer's picture

Women in Transition Conference 2018 (I'll be giving my first conference talk!)


I'm excited (and nervous!) to be taking part in the Women in Transition: Crossing Borders, Crossing Boundaries conference this September.

The conference runs across three days, 20th-22nd September, at King’s College London (20th) and St Peter’s College, University of Oxford (21st &22nd).

Here's a bit of the blurb about the event:

"This international, multilingual conference will bring together scholars, students and writers as well as sociologists, psychotherapists and clinicians working around the world. By choosing a thematic focus on ‘transition’ in women’s lives, we will be presenting research on women who have described how they have crossed biological, geopolitical, political borders as well as emotional, sexual, cultural and linguistic boundaries."

You can read the full description here.

And find out about the speakers here.

My own short talk (on the afternoon of the 20th September at King's College, London), is titled: ‘Cascading transitions: becoming a writer and seeking Asperger’s assessment in response to motherhood’.

It will focus on to the cascade of what might be called ‘knock-on’ transitions (those not directly pertaining to the work of mothering) precipitated by motherhood. The shifts in my awareness, affects and identifications have not stopped at re-positioning me as ‘mother’. Specifically, they have led me to a writing practice that I simply didn’t have before (and the beginnings of a PhD that no one, least of all me, was expecting), and to an NHS referral to be assessed for Asperger's Syndrome.

The line-up of speakers looks fascinating, and I am particularly excited to see a breadth of topics including motherhood and chronic pain (two of my big interests!).

If you'd like info about attending the conference click here.

26 views0 comments
bottom of page